School Athletics Carnival

Standard

ATHLETICS CARNIVAL
Athletics carnival –  the happiest day of school. My friends and I enjoy it because we get to run in the races. Some people were sad and some people were happy.
First we ran the one hundred metre race. It was very hard.
Then we ran two hundred metres and don’t get me started about that!
After that we did long jump and I got lots of sand in my shoe.
Next I got excited because we were going to say our war cry. Then we did relays and the Newcombe boys won. But the girls came second.
Lastly it was the epic 800 metres race and I didn’t run because I hurt my leg, but some of my team mates did. Mustapha came second but it doesn’t matter because we had fun . Then we came back to school and told our other friends that we had lots of fun.
By Toni

Excitedly we all shoved into the bus ready to head to Campbell Oval Park   for the Athletics Carnival. My class were all seated excitedly ready to go. The driver started the engine and drove by the green, fresh trees waving side to side from the fresh air. The hot sun was up beautiful in the sky – like a shining star.

 We arrived at the large open oval  – it was huge with a sand pit in the middle for long jump.  We all got seated in our house teams which are Bradman, Frazer, Freeman and Newcombe.

The first race was the 100m and the 12 year olds lined up in a line. The sun was so hot that it felt like I was in an oven. BOOM the gun went off as I sprinted as fast as I could  and my heart was pounding like a bouncing ball. I was sweating from the hot sun, it felt like it was just on me!

I’m coming second as I sprint and sprint as fast as my legs can go! I’m coming first!  Finally I reached to the finishing line – I came first I couldn’t believe it!

 I can  hear my team loudly cheering for me .  As I walk up to my team I realise that my hot, sweaty team are so proud of me and I was too because I scored 10 points for my team!!

By Shaima

Image: ‘Finish line
http://www.flickr.com/photos/16057786@N00/2956432732

 

 

5 thoughts on “School Athletics Carnival

  1. Hi Allstars 🙂 😡
    I liked reading what 😆 Shaima and Toni wrote. The athletics carnival was a great day and apperiantly everyone was happy actually :mrgreen: I knew a few that was not happy .

    Bye Sarah 🙂

  2. John

    Great reporting by Toni and Shaima, wel done.
    Shaima I really found your description of the race very exciting it was almost as if I was there in the heat!
    Toni I am wondering what your war cry is? I hope you got all of the sand out of your shoes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *