Athletics Adventure!

Standard

We gathered our running shoes, running shorts and lunch

Set off in the buses, all with a hunch

That today would be awesome, tiring but fun

Cos the weather was perfect – just right for a run!

 

We arrived with a bump and a clunk and a cheer.

Glad to get off the bus and announce “We are here”.

Off to our House teams, red, yellow and blue

Not to miss green who were there cheering too!

 

We lined up all a ready to hear the gun start

Ready, set, bang! What a fright for our heart!

The races were long and hard and far

But all came through them with hardly a scar!

 

Some jumped and some ran and some yelled and some screamed

All had a great time, but then ran out of steam.

Back off to school and the day was near done

That’s it for this year and the “Carnival of Fun”.

         

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Athletics Adventure!

  1. Hi I’m Nancy I’m from 3gk
    I went to the athletics carnival.
    It’s so fun.
    I came 5th in the 200m race. I’m not fast
    so…
    Are you having a great day?
    I hope so, I am
    I’m from sydney-Australia. I’ll visit your blog another day.
    from Nancy

  2. Hi my name Taz. I went to the athletics too and I came 3rd in the 100 metres and 4th in the 800 metres. What did you come in the 100 metres and the 800 metres?

  3. Hello Allstars,I am Emeline from 3GK.
    Our class read your poem about your Athietics Carnival,your poem was so great.
    I wish my class could do the same thing.
    I like your poem because it’s got some colours in it.On Monday the 18th of August it was our Athletics Carnival.I hope you have a great time in your next Athletics Carnival.

    From,Emeline

  4. Hello Taz,
    Thanks for commenting!! 😀
    It seems you did very well in the tiring Athletics carnival races. Congratulations for coming 3rd in the 100 metres and well done for coming 4th in the 800 metres, it’s a good result because 800 metres is really far so great job!!
    Katherine came 5th in the 100 metres, 4th in the 200 metres. I, Nadine, came 1st in 100 metres, 1st in 200 metres, and 1st in 800 metres AND 2nd in Long jump.
    Nadine and Katherine 😛

  5. Miss Law

    Hi Allstars,

    Primary 5 have been thinking hard about sports you could do to increase you daily activity levels to 80 minutes.

    We thought you could try:

    badminton, basketball, rounders, cricket, tae kwon do, bowling, dodgeball, volleyball and dancing.

    We also thought you could try a skipping challenge. We have one every year at Carronshore. It’s great fun and involves trying out lots of different ways of skipping. The P7s demonstrate them to the rest of the school and then they get to try them out.

    P5 Cshore

  6. Hello Emaline
    We are glad that you like our blog – we have fun writing things to put on it.How did you go in your athletics carnival? Did you run in any races? Did you have fun on the day?

    Hello Nancy,
    Coming 5th is a great effort – you had a go, did your best and participated in the fun and games on the day. Well done you 🙂

    Hi Anthony and Nuha,
    Yes everyone had a great time at the Athletics Carnival – some people thought the running was the best, some thought the yelling and cheering was the best, and a few thought that the sausage sandwiches were the best?! 😆

    Thanks for your great comments class 3GK, thanks for visiting us!

    AllStars

  7. Hello Carronshore P5

    Thanks for commenting and giving some thought for our sports challenge.

    We will definitely try them out – though instead of Tae Kwon Do we will try Vovinam martial arts -because Naomi & Tivi in our class are world champions at this 🙂

    We will also try badminton and skipping too.

    Thanks again!

  8. Hi AllStars & Mrs P,
    That was such a great day ❗
    I’d like to say CONGRATULATIONS to all the people that tried their hearts out in an event. 😀
    I hope everyone enjoyed the day! I really liked the sausage sizzle, my FAVOURITE part of the day! 😆
    The thing I was really impressed with was the cheering and great sportsmanship, many participants shok hands and wished luck to their opponents. After the race they would have congratulated there opponents and shake hands again. :mrgreen:
    I wish all the people participating it the zone athleteics good luck!
    Naomi 😛

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *