The Great Wave

Standard

ย Today we looked at the work of a Japanese artist, Hokusai, who spent his whole life sketching, painting and drawing.Hokusai is famous for his collection called “36 views of Mt Fuji”.

the-great-wave-hokusai.jpg

This wood block print is called:

The Great Wave Off Kanagawa

From “Thirty-six Views of Mount Fuji”; 1823-29 (140 Kb); Color woodcut, 10 x 15 in; Metropolitan Museum of Art, New Yorkยฉ Mark Harden www.artchive.com

We used the thinking routine called “See, Think, Wonder”.

Here are some examples MrsP wrote down at the start of the lesson:

I see the volcano.

I think it has erupted.

I wonder if that’s what caused the tsunami.”ย  Moustapha

I see the wave towering over the boat.

I think it looks like a monster.

I wonder if it’s angry at the people.” Sokeina

Please leave your thoughts in the comments using this thinking routine:

I see……

I think ……

I wonder ……..

31 thoughts on “The Great Wave

  1. Hi,
    I see the bigger wave.
    I think it looks like a monster.
    I wonder if it is trying to destroy the ships because they have killed whales and the whales are its friends.
    Tooooooooooooooooodles ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Hi Mrs P and other AllStars,
    I see a dormant volcano in the background.
    I think the volcano has erupted after a long time.
    I wonder if that is the biggest wave ever.
    Naomi :mrgreen:

  3. Hi again,
    I had some good ideas so I thought that although I alraedy shared one i would like to share the others.

    I see the black mist behind the volcanoe.
    I think it looks like a bowl and the clouds are the smoke or the steam coming out of it.
    I wonder if it is like the volcanoe is in the bowl and waiting for the right moment to explode.

  4. Hi MrsP!
    Some good description here we have!
    I see the monstrous wave thundering like an angry giant
    I think it looks like a giant’s fist banging down firmly onto the sea because it is angry of them getting too close. Afraid of its beautiful whales about to be killed, it bangs
    I wonder why?

  5. Hi again mrsP!
    Here’s another one i came up with:
    I see the swirly, misty black sky
    I think it resembles an evil mouth that is devouring happinness
    I wonder what has caused it to be SO angry and bad? ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Helloooooooooooooo again!
    The class has done such a great job writing such fantastic….. sentences! They sound so interesting, as if they could be closed tight together to make a story. I say, WELL DONE ALLSTARS, (even though i am one myself! ๐Ÿ˜† )
    Hokusai is VERY talented and has a clear imagination. His pictures fill the cup in your mind with many thoughts!!
    I see the wooden tragic boats struggling for safety
    I think they have been out on this dangerous voyage, risking their poor selves for their heartless king of No Kindness. They are escaping into the hungry depths of the ocean. But the Ocean is angry, furious after hearing the news of Whale Killing.
    I wonder if it will give them mercy, let them travel helplessly to their unknown, maybe safe destination. This could be their last breaths, so they must use them wisely. I wonder what they will do next. IF they will survive, is a wonder to the sighter’s of this awe-strucking painting, but if i was the writer, i would let those upset sailors escape to a happy freedom.

  7. Hi, those all seem interesting.
    How do you like my “I see, I think, I wonder? ”
    I see the humungous waves
    I think they having a competition of who has the biggest wave.
    I wonder who will win the competition and what prize will they get.
    Celia ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Hello
    I see the little wave in between all the big waves.

    I think that the bigger waves are trying to say that little things can’t do as much as bigger things and saying that they always need to be with someone.

    I wonder why the bigger waves are thinking that because surely the little wave is some use to help them!
    Momtahina ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hi,Mrs P and Allstars
    I see the small wave.
    I think the small wave is trying to split the long boat in half.
    I wonder if the people will survive.

    Bye,Bye
    Lilly ๐Ÿ˜†

  10. I see the water ๐Ÿ˜€

    I think the sea is angry because it made a tsunami

    I wonder if it is giving them payback for making it do it ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Hello allstars.
    I see the cloud.
    I think its a curse for the waves to Go crazy.
    I wonder why its shaped like a bird.
    Also.
    I see the crowd.
    I think its a game show.
    I wonder whats their prize.

  12. Hi,Allstars
    I see the huge wave.
    I think it’s trying to flood Mount Fuji and the wave like Mount Fuji is protecting Mount Fuji from flooding.
    I wonder if Mount Fuji is a litte brother of the wave like Mount Fuji.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Hey,

    I see:- a volcano, silent but ready to explode at any second.

    I think:- the waves are towering over the world.

    I wonder:- if a explorer will drown in the terrifying current.

    Natalie

  14. Tivi

    Hi,

    I see a boat sinking in the water.

    I think the people are calling out for help.

    I wonder if the people are going to drown.

    Bye,

    Tivi

  15. I see the poor people in the boats with no escape.
    I think the wave feels sorry for them and is trying to save them from being hurt.
    I wonder if the people are trying to get away from the waves because they think the wave will hurt them.
    The other sentences are really interesting and show that everybody can use their “Thinking Caps”!

    I also think that the Volcano in the backround is laughing at the ships. His laughter also caused the smoke to appear and rise!

    Mikhaila ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. The art that Hokusai did looks wonderful and it makes me
    SEE that the waves rush like wind through the air ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
    I THINK that the waves are trying to wreck the boats because the people in the boats are doing harm to the sea. ๐Ÿ‘ฟ
    finally I WONDER why the boats are moving in a group. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  17. Well done AllStars!
    You have used your imaginations well, you’ve seen brothers and wind, volcanoes laughing, evil seas, Kings of No Kindness, protectors and tsunamis. You really got me wondering too ๐Ÿ™‚

    You have really made the artwork come alive for me – there is lots of action happening – sounds and noises, feelings of fear and terror, the coldness of wind and water – I will never look at this artwork in the same way again.

    MrsP

  18. Lilly

    Hi MrsP and Allstars!
    I see the waves.
    I think the volcano has just erupted and made the waves angry.
    I wonder if the waves are trying to attack the people on the boat.

    Bye,Bye
    Lilly :mrgreen:

  19. Hi again!
    I have thought of another one!
    I see that the ships have no engine.
    I think that the boat is just drifting.
    I wonder if they have oars.

  20. Hi Mrs P,
    I see the people on the boat escaping from the violent volcano
    I think the wave is going to make them capsize their boat
    I wonder if the people will survive

    Naomi :mrgreen:

  21. Hi Mrs P and allstars!

    I see the front small wave.
    I think it looks like a volcanoe
    I wonder if the big wave is trying to wash away all the lava.

    Sarah

  22. Hi Allstars
    I enjoyed the Hokusai activities!
    I see the longboats.
    I think the longboats are trying to invade the waves territory.
    I wonder if the longboats are successful
    :mrgreen:

  23. I see the great wave,
    it looks like its going to smash to the boat in half.
    I think it looks angry because the volcano just erupted and inturuped their rest in the ocean.
    I wonder if the people is going to make through the great wave.

  24. I see the sea its like it is a monster trying to crash the people in the boat.
    I think that the sea is giving a order to go away and stay away.
    I wonder if the sea is trying to please the volcano because it just blown up.
    Bye
    From: Katherine ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *